perjantai 25. maaliskuuta 2011

Amon Amarth - Surtur Rising (2011)

When I first heard the song ''War of the gods'' (when it was on pre-listening) I just thought that it was the same old Amon Amarth as always. Not so good, but not so bad either. After a few listenings I found some new elements there. The guitar solo (or melody part whatever ) sounded very fresh and new. Another thing was that in the chorus there was no superfast bassdrum comp, as it had been since the first Amon Amarth album (not counting a few exceptions). So, i really started to wait this new album...

''Surtur Rising'' sounds cool. Feels like the album is some kind of second level, on the way that ''Twilight of the thunder god'' started. There is lots of new elements on this album, and still you can hear the old Amon Amarth somewehere there. Again Amon Amarth has managed to come up with many good melodies and riffs.

Even if this album was the best Amon Amarth album, there's still too many fill up songs like it's been in the last albums. For example the songs ''Wrath of the Norsemen'' and ''The last stand of frej'' are both quite qualityless. But on the other hand, songs like ''War of the gods'', ''Destroyer of the universe'' and particularly ''For victory or death'' are much better, and the best that this album can offer. And of course ''Doom over dead man'' deserves mentioning because of it's pretty synthesizer melody. But what can i say about the bonus track ''Aerials'' (''System of a down'' cover). it just doesn't work because it needs clean vocals on the chorus too. It's still a nice try...

So, in the end i can say that this new album is really worth listening and it's very good Amon Amarth album. Guitar work is good as always before, drumming is just awesome and Johan Hegg's vocals has developed and is much deeper now. I still think Amon Amarth is a bit overrated band because there is too many fill up songs and similarities between all of it's albums.

Rating: 3/5

1. War Of The Gods
2. Töck's Taunt - Loke's Treachery Part II
3. Destroyer Of The Universe
4. Slaves of Fear
5. Live Without Regrets
6. The Last Stand Of Frej
7. For Victory Or Death
8. Wrath Of The Norsemen
9. A Beast I Am
10. Doom Over Dead Man
11. Aerials (bonus track)

2 kommenttia: